The Return of the Beard (blog)!

After wrapping up this blog at the conclusion of my sabbatical I couldn’t help but notice that it was to the detriment of the internet at large.  And so, due to precisely no demand whatsoever, here is the return of Tim’s “Daily” Beard (daily being in quotations because I have no intention of actually posting daily).

So why the rebirth of this nigh-unto-pointless blog? Well, to my great shame I have shaved. Seriously, for a good number of days I really, genuinely regretted that decision. I kept on seeing myself in the mirror or catching a brief reflection in a window and being startled: who was that abomination staring back at me?

Why did I shave? Why indeed!

The short of it is that a good comrade in ministry convinced me to participate in Movember. It is a worthy enough cause that I have no problem supporting, however this “friend” of mine insisted that we both start in the same, er… condition.  Suffice it to say that my acquiescing to his request be sufficient evidence of the depth of our friendship.

Thus the point of this blog is to chronicle the resurrection of my once magnificent mane!  The inspiration for this iteration of the beard?  We’ll start with my father.

We’re currently on holidays and stopped by my mom and dad’s place.  I was hoping to browse through some of their old pictures and find some vintage pics of my old man with some sweet facial hair.  Better than pictures, we found slides!  This beauty is from 1971:

image

But since I’m growing this for Movember, I thought I should probably connect the mutton chops with a moustache thus forming the “Friendly Mutton Chops.”

I know that this is a ridiculous self-portrait, but it’ll give you an idea of how things are getting started:

image

And so here’s my plea: let me not have shaved in vain!

I would be honoured if you would consider contributing to men’s health through my movember page which you can view here.  If you don’t care to donate through me you can also donate to the team my church has put together (or any one of the individuals who make up that team).  Check them out here.

And if you’re not up for donating or participating yourself, well, feel free to come back here from time to time to view random pictures of my ugly mug and other facial hair oriented content.  ‘Cause that’s a thing.

