Brilliant Beards #6

In my mind, if there’s one series that can truly compare with ‘The Lord of the Rings‘ it is Frank Herbert’s ‘Dune‘ novels.  And guess what?  That’s right.  Frank Herbert had an epic beard!

Brilliant Beards #6: Frank Herbert

Seriously!  Check this guy out!  He was one handsomely bearded man:

frankherbert

In many ways Frank Herbert did to science-fiction what Tolkien did to the fantasy genre: provide something large-scale that was almost completely original and certainly unprecedented.  Honestly, if you have read both Tolkien and Herbert then you will realize just how unoriginal and derivative 98% (I may have just made that number up) of science-fiction/fantasy is.  I mean, as much as I love ‘Star Wars,’ if it wasn’t for Dune and LotR, Star Wars wouldn’t exist.  These two authors changed the landscape of imaginative fiction in very significant ways.  Frank Herbert’s ‘Dune‘ series is still the best selling science fiction series of all time.  It’s probably because of the beard.

FrankHerb5FRANK_HERBERT

Last week I finished re-reading ‘Dune‘ (the first book in the series) for the umpteenth time.  Before the end of the sabbatical I’ll see if I can get around to re-reading book two, ‘Dune Messiah,’ as well.  After all, who wouldn’t want to spend more time with this guy!

Stilgar

